Hello Youth Leader! Study in South East Asia is not bad too, especially for you with ASEAN nationality. You don’t need the head the strict immigration office administration to enter the country just like if you study in Europe or North America. Besides, you can shortcut the time for adapting your environment, since most of ASEAN country have no big difference with the weather, food, culture, etc.

And also, you may spend less fees whether for the tuition, living cost, air flight, etc. South East Asia offers you so much easiness. This time, we will share you about top 5 University in South East Asia based on QS Top Universities ranking year 2016, let’s take a look!

  1. National University of Singapore (NUS)

Source : https://yalealumnimagazine.com/uploads/images/1600016/1298484906/singapore_campus.jpg

No question, National University of Singapore (NUS) takes the first place. NUS is a publicly-funded autonomous university in Singapore. Founded in 1905, it is the oldest institute of higher learning (IHL) in Singapore, as well as the largest university in the country in terms of student enrolment and curriculum offered.

NUS is a research-intensive, comprehensive university with an entrepreneurial dimension. Every year, NUS is ranked consistently as one of the world’s top universities.According to the latest 2016 QS World University Rankings, NUS is placed 12th in the world and 1st in Asia. (See more: www.nus.edu.sg/)

  1. Nanyang Technological University (NTU)

Source : http://www.greenroofs.com/projects/ntu_singapore/ntu_singapore7.jpg

Again, number two is placed by Singapore’s university, Nanyang Technological University (NTU). NTU is a comprehensive and research-intensive university, with over 33,000 undergraduate and postgraduate students. The University is organized into eight colleges and schools. They are: the College of Engineering, the College of Science, the College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences, the Nanyang Business School, and the Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine – set up jointly with Imperial College London.

NTU is also home to several autonomous institutions including the National Institute of Education, S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies, Interdisciplinary Graduate School, Earth Observatory of Singapore, Singapore Centre on Environmental Life Sciences Engineering, Institute on Asian Consumer Insight, and the College of Professional and Continuing Education. (See more: www.ntu.edu.sg/)

  1. University of Malaya(UM)

Source : http://www.etawau.com/edu/UniversitiesPublic/UM/UM_01b.jpg

The University of Malaya(UM) is a public research university located in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. It is the oldest and most esteemed university in Malaysia. In the past period, University of Malaya has its roots in Singapore with the establishment of King Edward VII College of Medicine in 1905. University Malaya was established on 1949 October in Singapore with the merger of the King Edward VII College of Medicine and Raffles College (founded 1929).

In 1960, the government of the two indicated that the two divisions of the University of Malaya should become autonomous separate national universities, one located in Singapore (later becoming the National University of Singapore) and the other in Kuala Lumpur (retaining the name University of Malaya). Legislation was passed in 1961 and the University of Malaya was established on 1 January 1962.

Today, it has more than 2,500 faculty members. In 2012, UM was granted autonomy status by the Ministry of Higher Education. The University is divided into 12 faculties, 2 academies and 3 Centres, namely: Faculty of Law, Faculty of Engineering, Faculty of Dentistry, Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Built Environment, Faculty of Economics and Administration, Faculty of Business and Accountancy, Faculty of Education, Faculty of Science, Faculty of Languages and Linguistics, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Faculty of Computer Science and Information Technology, Academy of Malay Studies, Academy of Islamic Studies, Cultural Centre, Sports Centre and Centre for Foundation Studies (University of Malaya). (See more: www.um.edu.my)

  1. Chulalongkorn University

Source : http://khmer-online.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Chulalongkorn-University.jpg

Chulalongkorn University is a public and autonomous research university in Bangkok, Thailand. It is ranked as Thailand’s No. 1 university from various organizers such as QS world university ranking, Round university ranking, Center for world university ranking etc. The university was established in 1917, making it the oldest institute of higher education in Thailand.

Chulalongkorn University is one of the National Research Universities and supported by the Office of Nation Education Standards and Quality Assessment of Thailand. Moreover, CU is the only Thai university which is a member of Association of Pacific Rim Universities (APRU). It must be marked that admission to CU is highly selective, and applicants are required to have high test scores. And also applicants ranking within the top 10 national scores is chosen for study at CU.

Chulalongkorn University comprises nineteen faculties, a School of Agriculture, three colleges, ten institutes and two other schools. Its campus occupies a vast area in downtown Bangkok. (See more: www.chula.ac.th)

  1. Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM)

Source : https://forum.easyuni.my/uploads/default/original/2X/d/deeceab095ebce5e67bf76331d391429a256d0cf.jpg

Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) is recognised by the independent government assessments as one of Malaysia’s leading research Universities. Founded in 1931 as the School of Agriculture, UPM’s main campus is located in central Peninsular Malaysia, close to the capital city, Kuala Lumpur and next to Malaysia’s administrative capital city, Putrajaya. It was formerly known as Universiti Pertanian Malaysia or Agricultural University of Malaysia.

UPM is a research university offering undergraduate and postgraduate courses with a research focus on agricultural sciences and its related fields. UPM now offers 59 bachelor programmes, 7 diploma programmes,[10] and 12 Masters and Doctoral programmes. There are 16 Faculties, eight Centres, nine Institutes, two Schools, a University Park and a branch campus in Bintulu, Sarawak. (See more: www.upm.edu.my)

So, let’s make a plan for your study in South East Asia!